

A meeting of the Full Council of the Macdonald Campus Students' Society was held on **Monday, March 11, 2024,** from *5:30 to 7:00 p.m.* in CC-150

Present:

(Speaker) Joëlle Mottart (Secretary to the Council) no vote Henry Lee (President) Sahar Sakhi (VP Internal) Luke Singer (VP BOC) Blake Callan (VP Comm. & Student Life) Vaishnavi Parey (VP University Affairs) Marion Morissette (VP Equity & Sustainability)

Juliette Gauthier (*BESS Rep*) Connor Velthius (*FMT Rep*) Ambar Maldonado Rodriguez (*MCGSS Rep*) no vote Jenny Mcdonald (*MESS Rep*) no vote Fernando Altamura (*Faculty Rep*)

Regrets: Silas Sweeten (*AESUS Rep*), Ririka Saito (*FSA Rep*), Katie (Anna) Chong (*MaL*)

Absent: Maria El Dahdah (*VP Finance*), Alireza Roosta (*DHNUS Rep*), Leo Mueller (*MaL*) Guests:

Sahar Sakhi (Acting Speaker) opened the meeting.

1. Administrative

• Adoption of the Agenda

Henry Lee (*President*) moved to adopt the agenda as presented Sahar Sakhi (*VP Internal*) seconded. Unanimous, Carried.

• Approval of the Minutes

Luke Singer (*VP BOC*) moved to adopt the minutes from Feb 26, 2024, Connor Velthius (*FMT Rep*) seconded. Unanimous, Carried.

• Business Arising

- Sub-Society and MCGSS general updates
 - AESUS
 - MCGSS
 - FMT
 - BESS -BREE Banquet March 28, "Sence of Belonging" survey is up.
 - FSA
 - DHNUS
 - MESS -Lower quorum referendum passed, Tuition strike vote March 12.

2. Subcommittee Business

• Item Name, (Position)



3. Action Items

3.1 Valedictorian

Blake Callan (*VP Comm. & Student Life*) presented:We need 2 candidates, one for each morning and afternoon ceremonies.We had 3 applicants for Valedictorian, their videos were available to Council over the March Break. All 3 were for the afternoon ceremony.

A discussion followed: Valedictorians nominated by MCSS to speak at the Convocation in the afternoon is: Jamie Depolla who is in Environmental Biology

We will extend the deadline for auditions for the morning ceremony and vote at the next meeting.

3.2 Emerging Involvement Award

Henry Lee (*President*) opened the discussion on candidates for this award. A discussion followed: Isabella Seto was selected by the majority for her work in the Internal Committee this past year.

3.3 Jean Brown Award

Henry Lee (*President*) presented the Jean Brown Award criteria and opened the discussion for candidates for this award. A discussion followed. The chosen candidates' names will be submitted to the Student Affairs Office for approval of academic standing.

4. Reports

5. Next Meeting

Henry Lee (President): Next meeting on Mon, Mar 25, 2024 at 5:30pm, in CC-150

6. Adjournment

Henry Lee (*President*) moved to adjourn, Connor Velthius (*FMT Rep*) seconded. Unanimous, carried.

President _____

Secretary

ry _____