

Macdonald Campus Students' Society

Association des Étudiants du Campus Macdonald Tel: +1 514 398 8787 mcssmcgill.ca

A meeting of the full Council of the Macdonald Campus Students' Society was held on **Wednesday**, **Apr 9**, **2025**, from 5:30pm-7pm, in CC-150

Present:

Owen Pflipsen (Speaker)

Joëlle Mottart (Secretary to the Council) no vote Narang

Vaishnavi Parey (*President*) Maya Scully (*VP Internal*)

Aidan Hayward Toland (VP Finance)

Thomas Giblin (VP BOC)

Farhan Rafat (VP Comm & Student Life) Katie Chong (VP University Affairs)

Alexandra MacDonald (VP Equity & Sustainability)

Narangoo Ganzorig (AESUS Rep)

Lara Banicz (BESS Rep) Ariane Ly (DHNUS Rep) Aidan Velthuis (FMT Rep) Dorothea Han (FSA Rep)

Jennifer Mcdonald (MESS Rep) no vote Sebastien Faucher (Faculty Rep)

Eliott Rabier (MaL)

Regrets:

Absent: Dennis Dankwa (MCGSS Rep), Hildana Endrias (MaL)

Guests: Joshua Cao, Asahi Suzuki, Farida Khedr

Owen Pflipsen (Speaker) opened the meeting

1. Administrative

• Adoption of the Agenda

Aidan Hayward Toland (VP Finance) moved to adopt the agenda, Farhan Rafat (VP Comm & Student Life) seconded Unanimous, carried

• Approval of the Minutes

Aidan Velthuis (*FMT Rep*) moved to adopt the minutes from Mar 19, 2025, Alexandra MacDonald (*VP Equity & Sustainability*) seconded Unanimous, carried

• Business Arising

- Sub-Society and MCGSS general updates
 - AESUS -Tote Bag giveaway Apr 8, one more planned during finals
 - MCGSS
 - FMT
 - BESS -Last meeting held last week, our new rep on MCSS will be Clarisse Regnault (present)
 - FSA -Sugar Shack outing Apr 11.
 - DHNUS



MESS -Termination of SSMU, no effect on MESS.

2. Subcommittee Business

• **Item** Name, (position)

3. Action Items

3.1 MCSS Council Introductions (Info, Discuss)

Vaishnavi Parey (President) introduced the 25-26 incoming executives, Joshua Cao (VP Internal), Asahi Suzuki VP Finance, Farida Khedr VP Comm & Student Life) who will be observing today's meeting.

3.2 Valedictorian Auditions (Info, Discuss, Vote)

Farhan Rafat (VP Comm. & Student Life)

We still needed a candidate for the morning ceremony, we received one submission.

A discussion followed:

All agreed that the Valedictorian nominated by MCSS to speak at the Convocation's morning ceremony would be Andre Hadji-Thomas, who is in Bioresource Engineering.

3.3 Reps on Committees for 2025-2026 Mac, Senate and BOG (Info, Discuss)

Vaishnavi Parey (President): Please put your name down for the committees you are responsible for as per your position. There are 3 lists, Mac Committees and Senate Standing Committees, and Board of Governors.

3.4 MCSS Signing Officers (Info, Discuss, Vote)

Aiden Hayward Toland (*VP Finance*): We must motion to remove signing authority from the current exec as of June 1st, 2025, and then assign signing authority to the new Signing Officers as listed as of June 1st, 2025.

As stated in the MCSS By-Laws, Signing Officers are:

- -President
- -Vice-President, Finance
- -Vice President, Internal
- -Vice President, Business Operations
- -Accounts Administrator

A discussion followed:

Aidan Haward Tolland, (VP Finance) moves that, as of June 1st, 2025, signing authority over all accounts and funds of the Macdonald Campus Student's Society (MCSS) <u>be revoked</u> for the



Macdonald Campus Students' Society

Association des Étudiants du Campus Macdonald Tel: +1 514 398 8787 mcssmcgill.ca

following persons, Vaishnavi Parey, Aidan Hayward-Toland, Maya Scully, Thomas Giblin. Aidan Haward Tolland, (VP Finance) further moves that, as of June 1st 2025, signing authority over all accounts and funds of the Macdonald Campus Students' Society (MCSS) be granted or renewed to the following persons: Farhan Rafat, Asahi Suzuki, Shuhan Cao, Thomas Giblin, and Juliana Agolli) - Vaishnavi Parey (President) seconded. Unanimous, carried.

Aidan Haward Tolland, (VP Finance) moves that, as of June 1st, 2025, Vaishnavi Parey, Aidan Hayward-Toland, Maya Scully, Thomas Giblin, be no further considered administrators of the Macdonald Campus Students' Society (MCSS) under part III of the Québec Companies Act. Aidan Haward Tolland, (VP Finance) further moves that, as of June 1st, 2025, Farhan Rafat, Asahi Suzuki, Shuhan Cao, Thomas Giblin, and Juliana Agolli be granted or renewed the title of administrators of the Macdonald Campus Students' Society (MCSS) under part III of the Québec Companies Act, -----Aidan Velthuis (FMT Rep) seconded.

Unanimous, carried.

3.5 MCSS Faculty Representative

Vaishnavi Parey (*President*) We would like to thank Sebastien for being our faculty rep this year. Your presence and guidance have been very much appreciated.

4	T)	4
4.	Ken	orts

5. Next Meeting

Vaishnavi Parey (President): Next meeting TBA next semester.

6. Adjournment

Aidan Haward Tolland, (VP Finance) moved to adopt the agenda, Alexandra MacDonald (VP Equity & Sustainability) seconded Unanimous, carried

President	 Secretary	
	 •	



Macdonald Campus Students' Society

Association des Étudiants du Campus Macdonald Tel: +1 514 398 8787 mcssmcgill.ca